My first Group Ride…

Blue bike

The Blue Bike $125

For my amusement, and for exercise to offset those hours at the easel, I have a Fenix road bike. It is said that anyone can become a cyclist merely by declaring that they are one!  Turn pedals. Don’t hit anything or fall off.    I have done a few solo practice runs, and have a moderate idea how to shift among 21 Shimano gears.  So I thought I’d take a look at the local cycling club.  They meet on Tuesday evenings and since I was teaching my small art group, I really had to really hustle… I checked my tires put on padded knickers and my helmet, not really a good look on me, and headed off. I had no time to change my painting shirt but I had a couple of water bottles in a small backpack, turned on my blinky back light and hustled up to the Shop.

flag

Ready for the Fourth $125

I labored up the hill, in a hurry to get there by 6.30.   A dozen lean riders looking as if they just stepped out of the Tour de France, in their tight clingy superhero triathlon skinsuits with cool logos plastered all over, thought I didn’t look like much!  I circled around grabbing a breath but by the time I am back on the road they are a blur in the distance. By the time I reached the top of the hill, they are out of site.  That was it.  No chance.

 

A real cyclist came up just a couple of minutes behind me.  This was his second tryout with the group. He thought tonight there were no C riders (beginners) because the route was very hilly, if I’d checked the website I would know that. Only the A and B riders like the challenge. He noticed my inferior pedals, and didn’tcare for my gear shifters, but he stayed around for a few miles and some tough hills, then I turned back. I knew he was hanging around in case of an incidents and it had already been a workout.

The moment he was out of sight I made some radical move with the controls and my chain jumped the gear wheel.  I pulled onto the grass, and persuaded it back but ended up with black greasy fingers. I didn’t want the oil on my nice white handlebars.  I reached home, run out of battery on my flashy red light…out of water….hot.

I think I need a little more practice.

shopping

French Alley $125

About Tan

Hello bloggers! I am an artist, not a writer, but please enjoy my blog. We no longer own our lovely boat but we go often to Tortola to visit our friends, to look after their apartments and to spend fun time on their Edel Catamaran, Wildfire. I have just completed two Round the World voyages as Cunard's watercolour teacher on board Queen Mary (2016) and Queen Elizabeth (2017). Pete came along for the ride! See paintings and sketches, and read about our adventures here. Now we are back in our home/studio in Chagrin Falls, trying to reestablish a normal life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

