Summer in Chagrin

IMGP2722

It took us ages to adjust to an ordinary life after the extraordinary, and to plenty of household chores after no chores.  We do the minimum in the garden….water, cut grass, pull a few weeds and water the veg that we put in our small plot.  In the space of two weeks we have gone from evenings with the furnace and an extra blanket (unusual), to wishing we had more ceiling fans and a/c (usual).

We did our taxes, and friends came for Blossom Weekend, a village-wide display of complete euphoria, with three days of parties, a run, a noisy parade, hot air balloons, the fair, then a sober memorial parade. Then life reverts to a conventional sober, safe and steady pace.  I bought a sleek lightweight road bike, learned to use 22 gears, and I ride it often. We both are back to playing pickle ball, we renovated the garden room, and have started a remodel of the kitchen.  I completed a couple of watercolor commissions, and after posting all my demos online I completed my first oil in six months.

Claudias Lilies

Claudia’s Lilies

I went back to the art group and realized I wasn’t ready to go back to teaching.  After four months painting in front of a big class (eight months, if you consider both ships) it has been a pleasure to paint in solitary.  I miss the friendship, and the pleasure I had while watching students achieve unique small paintings of their own, but painting is not a group activity. Learning is best done while wrestling with the paints by yourself.
I now have a collection of paintings from our journey around the world…..

 

http://www.dailypaintworks.com/artists/tan-gillespie-5750/artwork

Select an image to see all the details. Almost all of these are class demos.

If you want to see what I’m painting now (in oil) check back to dailypaintworks and type in my name, regularly. There are larger images on my website.

Will we take another Round the World cruise?   Perhaps not.   However, we are selling our condo in Sarasota. We know we are not quite ready to sit on a couch, and dine at happy hour!  I think there will be more international travel for Pete and I, but for now, we are home, and I will be back in the studio.

About Tan

Hello bloggers! I am an artist, not a writer, but please enjoy my blog. We no longer own our lovely boat but we go often to Tortola to visit our friends, to look after their apartments and to spend fun time on their Edel Catamaran, Wildfire. I have just completed two Round the World voyages as Cunard's watercolour teacher on board Queen Mary (2016) and Queen Elizabeth (2017). Pete came along for the ride! See paintings and sketches, and read about our adventures here. Now we are back in our home/studio in Chagrin Falls, trying to reestablish a normal life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

